Thoughts

Standard

I see it around my house, I (used to) see it on TV, I see it with my friends, and I even see it on the scale (and on my plate). What is it that I see?

EXCESS

Everywhere I look I see excess. We live in a very excessive culture. Did you know most of the world lives on LESS THAN $2 a day? It’s even hard to order a sweet tea at a restaurant for less than $2 these days, so imagine trying to live on that. It changes your perspective a little doesn’t it?

Almost 2 years ago, I read a book that really really really made me think. ALOT. The book is called 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker. In a couple of weeks, I, along with a few friends are going to embark on our own mutiny against excess. It’s exciting to think about getting rid of many of the things that clutter up my life and I’m excited to go on this journey with some friends as well.

That said, I read an outstanding article today from RELEVANT Magazine titled The Socially Acceptable Sin by Jason Todd. It speaks about how our love of excess and more is simple gluttony. This really hit home with me:

Is the desire for excess sinful? It depends on whether the soul is addicted to a finite excess or an infinite excess. Do we ever think of gorging on God? Do we relish the chance to spend a few more minutes in prayer, hidden away from the world for just one more taste of the divine? When was the last time we lingered long over the pages of an open Bible because we just couldn’t stop admiring the honeyed flavor of an ancient truth? If the Bible is the story of the only infinite good, why do we spend so much of our lives at lesser tables?

Leave a comment and let me know what you think!

Leave a comment